This Dr. Makes House Calls

I still remember buying my first pair of Dr. Martens boots.  They were on sale at a local skate shop and appeared to be black when I bought them. I was 15, getting deep into the hesher group at school, and about to go to my first concert without my dad, so they were the perfect shoes for the new me. Later it would turn out they were actually an army green that someone had polished black, but the resulting mixed color scheme was so cool looking it only made them better and uniquely me. Also it went well with the vintage army shirt I wore everywhere. (I miss that shirt! It got lost in a move.) Also, they were crazy comfortable, I could wear them hiking, and this being the 90s, I could get away with wearing them in an ironic fashion with nice dresses.

Fast forward a decade or so, and my poor boots had finally given up the ghost. I threw them out in the last move. But they were not forgotten, and I have taken up collecting Docs, since thanks to the wonders of the interwebs I can now get them in wide variety of colors and types. Not only is skimming though the online store astounding (High heeled Docs in pink with a faux lace design! Who knew!?), but they also offer free shipping. I kid you not. Yes, the shoes are over $100, but if you belong to their mailing list, they have sales pretty regularly (30% off last Christmas, and 20% off over Valentine’s Day weekend), and they last seemingly FOREVER with the right care. Especially if you buy the ones with the lifetime warranty. How many shoes under $200 come with a lifetime warranty? And free shipping? How awesome is that?

So… go check them out. Sure they might not be as pretty as a pair of Louboutin‘s. But the Loubutin’s won’t be nearly as comfy. And will cost a whole lot more. And not be as durable. Oh, just get a pair and you’ll love them. I’m going to get these for work as soon as I’m done saving up for my next pair.

1 Comment

Filed under Culture, Fashion, Goth

One response to “This Dr. Makes House Calls

  1. davidnscott

    Actually, you lost your army shirt at the Excalibur in Vegas. 🙂