In Your Pants?

Way, way back in the late 90s, David and I had one of those boring married couple Friday routines of watching Drew Carey, Spin City, Conan, and whatever else happened to be on that night. It was actually pretty fun. This was back when Conan was a wacky refreshing change from the other late night talk shows and there was a super funny Brit on Drew Carey named Mr. Wick. Flash forward to 2006, when I happened to be flipping through the TV channels around 12:30am when I happen upon what appeared to be Mr. Wick giving a late night talk show monologue except that he sounded… Scottish. As it turned out Craig Ferguson is just good at playing an evil Englishman, and it also turned out he’s a terrific talk show host, too.

I’ve been a fan ever since that day. I’ve missed a show or ten at various points, but thanks to the wonders of modern technology, I’ve caught most of them either online or via my cell phone’s streaming video. Craig’s monologues have kept me company through months of job hunting, entertained me on lunch breaks, and more recently have become a regular ritual wherein David and I have a bit of dessert or a snack before bedtime and watch the monologue, and maybe the “tweets & emails” segment, and maybe and interview or two if someone we like is on.

I like Craig because he seems very down to earth, well read, and yet manages to be a complete goofball at the same time. He’s got a nerdish streak, a naughty sense of humor, and doesn’t seem to give a rat’s ass if you watch the show or not, as long as he’s entertaining by his own personal standards. Also, he’s got a robot skeleton sidekick that is probably gay, and you really don’t get much more awesome than that. (Or fabulous! Jazz hands!) The puppets and musical numbers often get saved to my favorites as well. And he wrote and sings his own theme song! Which was ripped off by a French comedian! Let’s see you top that, Leno!

But the most important thing to me is that when I watch Craig, I feel like I’m hanging out with a friend. He seems like the kind of guy I would go out to dinner with and he’d have the whole table in stitches before the appetizers were gone. But hopefully he’d bring Geoff Peterson along with him, and maybe a couple interns, and, of course, SECRETARIAT!

3 Comments

Filed under Culture

3 responses to “In Your Pants?

  1. davidnscott

    Fun stuff. You have to respect the improvised monologues, especially. Gets rid of the rehearsed feel, which can hamper my enjoyment quite a bit…

  2. My fave bit of Craig…